Skip to content

Another day :)

January 28, 2010

Woke up this morning to Braven paging Momma/Daddy…he runs the two words together – we are one flesh after all 🙂  MommaDaddy HELP! When I went in he had sneezed and had a handful of snot hanging.  A good morning to you too! 🙂  Then he had a surprise waiting for me in his diaper.  I can look at it two ways – YAY! we got it taken care of early in the day OR OY! let me go back to bed and start over.  Being a “grown up” and all, I realize there really aren’t “Do-Over’s” in real life.  I might add that Baby Gabe (I probably should drop the “baby” part off soon or the kid will be 12 and be made fun of by his peers) got me up at 6 AM for a feeding and I had just gotten back to bed and fell asleep when Braven started paging me.  Are you bored with all this melodrama? Me too!  On to something else.

Today I have to prepare to pack for a trip to Pittsburgh. Taking two kids is going to be fun.  Need to make a list and check it twice – nothing like being in a hotel at 2 AM and realizing that you need something right now!  We are going to visit Frank’s grandparents.  There are some health related issues going on and we want to make sure they meet Baby Gabe (it sounds right to say baby in this sentence) and get some photos.  I don’t want to pack, I don’t want to travel with a sick 2 1/2 year old…what I really DO want to do is play with my new toy.  Intrigued by what my new toy might be?  Read on.

Last night we picked up a Mercato Atlas Pasta Maker.  I got a good deal – brand new – Craigslist.  So, I would love to have the time to make a batch of fresh pasta.  I’d like to have the time to take a hot shower, wash my hair, shave my legs and get dressed in clean clothes for once too!  Maybe I can do it ALL after my Starbucks (brewed at home because they don’t have Starbucks Home Delivery…YET!) kicks in – it’s full strength Espresso coffee.  Imagine if I could do all the laundry, clean the house, TAKE A SHOWER, nurse the baby, entertain the toddler, pack for Pittsburgh and make fresh pasta for dinner (and a salad and dessert) before hubby gets home.  The only time in my life I’ve been able to accomplish all of that was when I was pregnant this last time.  I felt like Wonder Woman!!  Now I feel like a bad version of Roseanne.

So, let me share a recipe with you for the salad dressing I would make IF I were able to be Wonder Woman today – there’s always next week.

Rockin’ Ranch Dressing

  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 green onions, roughly chopped
  • 2/3 cups buttermilk
  • 1 cup mayonnaise OR 1 cup GREEK YOGURT (healthier & high in protein)
  • Salt & freshly ground black pepper
  • Cayenne Pepper Powder – just a pinch – to taste – IF you are bold but you can omit if you’d like to.

In a small food processor pulse the garlic cloves.  Add green onions and pulse.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add buttermilk and mayo (or Greek yogurt) salt & pepper.  Process until all ingredients are throughly mixed.

You can use right away but it is better if you refrigerate and allow the flavors to marry.

I usually serve this with lettuce, red onion, tomatoes, crumbled bacon, co-jack cheese and hard boiled egg salad…don’t forget the croutons!  This recipe is inspired by Claire Robinson of Food Network – 5 Ingredient Fix.

2 Comments
  1. Nikki permalink

    Braven is just too funny! he is going to be such an interesting and fun person to be around when he gets older..im sure he is going to be the one who tells jokes and stuff like that..i cant wait! A pasta maker sounds amazing!

  2. Nikki – it sounds like we may be making some fresh pasta with the pasta maker while you are visiting? 🙂 We can make homemade lasagna or ravioli…

Leave a comment