Skip to content

Time flies…

March 17, 2010

I can’t believe that the whole month of February and half of March has passed us by.  We had a couple of trips to Pittsburgh due to Frank’s grandfather’s failing health and funeral.  The world lost a wonderful man, husband, father, grandfather, uncle, brother, friend and hero.

The sun has started to shine again in Ohio.  The snow has melted (yay!) and signs of spring are popping up in the form of tulips and daffodils, but the tiny crocus plant will bloom first at my house.  I love spring, I love spring flowers. 

Gabriel is getting big.  He’s doing really well and I love him more and more every day.  Braven is so tall and handsome and so smart.  Both of my sons are truly the very best of me and my husband.

Spring cleaning is on my mind today…as well as wanting to bake bread.  I have a roast in the crockpot and cabbage waiting to debut on this St. Patrick’s Day 2010.   Tomorrow, my niece is coming to visit for a few days – she is finishing up finals for her Winter Quarter.  Thinking a trip to the zoo may be in our immediate future.

Last weekend we picked up a used Step 2 Country Kitchen for the boys.  Braven loves it!  He made at least 75 pots of coffee and would announce, “Fresh coffee, Mama!!” – “Fresh, hot coffee, Daddy”.  I’m a total coffee addict so I’ll take it real or imaginary 🙂 And it was good coffee.

I think I’m a reasonably good cook – I try to be a good cook.  I’m not prone to burning food and I have been studying recipes and various genres of food since I was 7 1/2 years old and joined 4-H.  My “foodie” mentality is to the point where I made cheeseburgers for dinner the other night and felt as if I let down my family because it wasn’t a “spectacular” meal.  It was good…cheeseburgers served with oven roasted vegetables (broccoli, onion, Brussels sprouts, whole cloves of garlic and carrots) and that was it – the meal.  Last week I made Quiche twice.  First was a Mexican Quiche and next was an Italian Chicken Roasted Red Pepper Quiche.  If people only knew how simple it is to make a Quiche, especially if someone else makes the crust!  🙂 

I totally planned to start working out – got a good day in with the Wii and was looking forward to making it a habit.  Then I caught a cold that has been hanging on and on…and then….I tripped over a toy fire truck and broke my toe. 

Well – here is today’s menu.  Maybe I should start taking pictures.  I took 4 lbs of beef roast and coated it with a spice mixture consisting of  1 – 1 oz packet of Hidden Valley Ranch powdered dressing mix, 1 small packet of Italian seasoning and 1 packet of Lipton Beefy Onion.  I then put it in the crockpot with an onion sliced in rings and a cup of water (in hindsight I wish I had used a cup of red wine).  I’m hoping to make a couple of Sun Dried Tomato Foccacia bread loaves – but you and I both know what they say about good intentions.  For a side dish I’m making oven roasted potatoes, cabbage, onion & garlic dressed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper.  I’m also thinking about making a Green Chilie Corn Pudding – but again – the good intentions rule applies.

One Comment
  1. Nikki permalink

    i made your blog! I enjoyed reading your blogs because since you live kinda far away i dont get to hear bout whats going on in your life and your thoughts and feeling bout things! Keep them coming theyre good!

Leave a Reply

